33 Must Be My Magic Number

33 is my magic number, and I don’t mean my sleep number.  I’ve never had a major problem with my weight or health.  My weight may fluctuate, but I’d always stayed within 10 pounds either way.  About 28, I had a stubborn 10 pounds that I really wanted off and I couldn’t seem to lose until I discovered Jillian Michaels and problem solved.  Within a month, I was in the best shape I’d been in yet.  A couple of years later,  I had a similar problem and P90X was my miracle.  I was in the best shape ever!  Within a couple of months, I was one sexy beach mama!  I am proud of those bikini pics!  I never considered it extremely hard to lose weight and get in shape if I really wanted to do so.  My wedding in 2012 was another motivator for which I got toned and tanned, and it was actually pretty easy.  But, at age 33, I seemed to hit a wall.  I was shocked to see 150 for the very first time on the scale.  Standing at 5’3″ on a good day, that’s a big chunk of weight!  A year later, the scale hadn’t budged much, so initiated an extremely grueling workout routine and diet.  Since crossing that threshold at 33, I have found that I must work at least twice as hard as I did previously before I see results.  I am 34 now and still have some weight to lose (for me, before my Vegas trip in March), but I have figured out what is working for me – more or less a combination of P90X and Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred.  Not that I’m being paid to endorse anyone, just saying they have helped me stay focused.  The extra water and boosted nutrition is also helping my skin keep its youth, as well.  I notice a difference on weeks that I cheat.  I suppose I should consider myself lucky – my youth has extended longer than some I know, and if I don’t let my guard down again, I can keep myself young for a while.  I do still occasionally get the “You don’t look old enough to have a 15 year old!  You look like sisters, not mother and daughter.”  I always love that.  But, I think now people are just trying to be nice. 

Leave a Reply

