Small Flower in A Big World

I may be a small flower in a big world, but my how I can blossom in the soil where God plants me.  He does indeed put us where He can use us best, according to our gifts.  Sometimes, He even stretches us beyond our natural gifts.  Take Moses for example.  God chose Moses out of all the Israelite babies born in Egypt to be the one raised by Pharaoh’s daughter.  He chose Moses out of all Israelite men to be the one to speak on behalf of all. Moses, the in-eloquent one.  The man who stuttered was chosen to speak directly to God, to all of God’s chosen people and represent them to Pharaoh and all of Egypt’s leaders.  That just goes to show that God chooses how He can use us, when, and where.

I thought my writing career was over several years ago.  I no longer had any inspiration, motivation, or creativity.  I felt like all my leads and outlets were exhausted when I could no longer easily produce.  My life went through a huge upheaval, which affected more than just my writing.  To gain control and order back in my life, writing wasn’t even important anymore.  My family, health, and job were my priorities.  But, to my surprise, when I felt like my life came back under God’s promises again, writing still wasn’t there.  I journaled…I wrote letters…I wrote college essays…even Facebooked, but nothing seemed to jog my writer’s block.  I wanted to write prose, poetry, and stage plays again!  I wanted to write human interest pieces and maybe even devotionals.

Resigned to live a life without writing again, I filled my journals with jabber about what I was doing, what I was eating (calorie counting), scriptures I had read, and what my kids said to me.  (Not unlike many blogs out there, including some of mine).  Little did I know, God did have other plans for me.  Plans to prosper me…to give me hope and a future. (Jeremiah 29:11)  My life is in another transition…this time between careers.  As doors have closed and new ones have opened, writing was hiding behind one of these new doors.  God is good and will never lead us down a path that leaves all that we love and cherish behind.  Our plans and goals may not always fit His design, but He does design us to be able to glorify Him.  Sometimes He takes us through seasons that bring us to change our goals and desires to better conform to His.  He may take us through seasons that are devastating, confusing, and seemingly hopeless, but He restores us and uses these times to build us up in strength, character, and wisdom.  I am thankful for these times, as they have brought me to a place so much better than I ever used to dream to be.

I have read many blogs about blogging and I don’t wish to linger too long on the subject myself; however, blogging has made a huge impact on my life.  While I have been provided outlets to write again, blogging has been instrumental in helping me get started.  It has boosted my confidence, as I have a very public place to write and write and write and write.  Since my very recent blogging debut, I have been able to write A LOT!  And I appreciate all who read my blogs!  I encourage those of you who are struggling writers to not give up on writing.  If you are facing major writer’s block, or the challenges of getting published, or just feeling burned out…keep at it.  Keep jotting, keep typing, and keep blogging.  Get your words down and eventually, they’ll get to the readers you are writing to.

Any other writers out there who have found blessings in blogging?  Or, curses?  Please share your experiences with me.

183

One thought on “Small Flower in A Big World

Leave a Reply

