Are You Worth It?

Image

So, since I am in the middle of a transition in my life, I felt compelled to study up on better relating to people.  I feel this will really help me in my future endeavors, as well as in my personal relationships.  How can I make people feel like a million bucks?  And, since I work from home so much, I feel I can apply these principles to making new friends as well…since it does get pretty lonely and isolated sometimes.  Anyway, I am gaining a wealth of insight from a number of inspirational sources…including the Bible and works by John C. Maxwell and legendary Dale Carnegie.  So, I thought I’d start a series of blogs over what I’m learning, to pass along to anyone else that might benefit from it, too.

What better place to start than with ourselves?  “Your relationships can only be as healthy as you are,” Neil Clark Warren said.  You can’t be happy without first being healthy.  And to be healthy, you must value yourself.  If you don’t value yourself, you will never fully invest in yourself.  You won’t keep determined to make investments in yourself day in and day out.  It’s a lot of work sometimes keeping healthy, making smart choices and keeping the negative influences at bay.  It wears me out some days to keep telling the chocolate chip cookie dough no…I beg him to quit calling my name.  But seriously, this is deeper than that.  We have to know that we are worth investing in.

Image

“One of the greatest moments in anybody’s developing experience is when he no longer tries to hide from himself but determines to get acquainted with himself as he really is,”  Norman Vincent Peale.  You are worth getting to know!  God created you and made no mistake in making you just who He wants you to be.  As Psalm 139 put it, you are fearfully and wonderfully made.

Image

Ralph Waldo Emerson said, “What lies behind us, and what lies before us are but tiny matters compared to what lies within us.”  What you have inside is so powerful, it can’t be compared to the amazing world around us.  Our souls alone are what live on forever.  Our bodies and the world around us will one day fade.  All the more reason to value and nurture ourselves, isn’t it?  To strengthen ourselves from the inside out…you are worth whatever the investment may be.

Leave a Reply

