Something Rotten!

Teenagers! Boy are they dramatic! I asked my teenage daughter to do a simple chore. One that wouldn’t take probably ten minutes and I got the full head roll eye roll. The eye roll where you see nothing but the whites of the eyes, full fledged eye roll. Then I hear the huff. My reply was, “I sure wish my life was as difficult as yours.”

How spoiled is my kid? How spoiled are most of them? And in the grand scheme of things, it isn’t cute and it isn’t pretty. My daughter is 17, going on 18 very soon and will be out of high school in three short months. She’s practically an adult and who likes a spoiled adult? Of course, she’s my daughter, but she doesn’t always act like that. She’s going to be a productive and successful adult, but this incident made me think about life and how spoiled we are sometimes when we approach God for things.

Do we throw temper tantrums? Do we ever wine and roll our eyes at God, even figuratively? Are we always grateful? Do we obey him and worship him without question? Are we judgmental towards others?

While we’re certainly encouraged by Scripture to make our requests known to the Father (Philippians 4:6), the highest calling on our lives is to love God with all of our hearts, souls, bodies and minds (Matthew 22:37). We can do both, but we are commanded to seek God first: to look to Him as our Ultimate. Our Portion.

Asaph wrote Psalm 73 with a lot on his mind. He was flustered about all the bad people around him. He wondered why God wasn’t smacking them around for being so wretched and was struggling to keep his eyes on his own life. Sound familiar?

Then his woes turned to worship as he entered into the sanctuary of God (v17). His heart began to untangle as he remembered God’s sovereignty. In Psalm 73:26, he finally landed in a good place. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

Leave a Reply

