Somewhere I Shouldn’t Be

wordistryinc's Blog

I have dedicated Friday’s to be Fiction Friday. Here is a short story that isn’t actually fiction at all, but some things you just can’t make up. This truly happened, with only slight embellishments.

Who hasn’t been lost at some point and time? Who can’t relate to the feeling of helplessness when you are surrounded by unfamiliar places, people, smells, and sights? One such experience made me acutely aware how easily and innocently I could end up somewhere completely out of my comfort zone. On one sunny day in September a few years back, I looked in my rearview mirror and saw the familiar terrain of downtown Dallas behind me. Ahead, I could see I was travelling somewhere I shouldn’t be.
​I had come to Dallas the night before for a conference for work. Since I processed payroll for a living, a refresher course in state and local income…

View original post 751 more words

Leave a Reply

