Trainwreck

My life was there. One huge train wreck. I sat in my chair every night, the tv on, a glass of rum or wine in my hand, and I numbed my pain. I forgot my sorrows and I drowned my dreams away. I attempted to find love by way of men I met online, or elsewhere. I lowered my standards and I lowered myself to the pits.

One day I thought about how one simple little switch can change the entire course of the train. One flick of a switch can lead it down an entirely different path. God hit that switch. He dug me out of the pit, as He has done with many others. God found Gideon in a hole. He found Joseph in a prison. He found Daniel in a lion’s den. He has a curious habit of showing up in the midst of trouble, not the absence. Where the world sees failure, God sees future. Next time you feel unqualified to be used by God, remember this: He tends to recruit from the pit – not the pedestal.

The most important lesson I learned while sitting at the bottom of the pit of depression is to never give up hope. I made it out of the pit … and so can you!

The path may seem endless and even cruel at times, but you must be patient. You did not slip into that pit overnight, and you will not climb out of that pit overnight. The journey out of the pit begins and ends with one small step of faith. Walk straight ahead through your fear. And with each step, moment-by-moment, the darkness will slowly fade and the heaviness will lift.

Psalm 40:1-3 (NIV) “I waited patiently for the LORD; He turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; He set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God.”

Leave a Reply

